Page 1 of 4

Outage Notices and other news

Posted: 02-05-2003 08:34 AM
by Gwen
This is up on the [email protected] page. Make sure you have work units cached. It is supposed to last 4 hours today, but you all know how that song goes. Image

— February 4, 2003 —
OUTAGE NOTICE. Cogent will be performing maintenance on our link tomorrow from 11:00 until 15:00 UT. Our data server will experience disruptions during this time.



[This message has been edited by Gwen (edited 05 February 2003).]

Posted: 02-06-2003 11:07 AM
by Gwen
There will be another outage today, Feb 6th.

— February 5, 2003 —
OUTAGE NOTICE. We will be having a 2 hour data server outage tomorrow, begining at 18:00 UT . During this outage we will be replacing a CPU that failed this past weekend as well as an ethernet interface that is beginning to fail. We'll take this opportunity to perform some system software upgrades as well.


Here is a chart for
UT (Universal Time) Conversion

Posted: 02-06-2003 06:04 PM
by Linnea
Image

Posted: 02-06-2003 06:05 PM
by Linnea
Tried to install my previous seti commdline application, but it no longer recognizes me!
Wonder why the download is so different than it used to be?

Posted: 03-19-2003 08:58 AM
by Gwen
In a few days, there will be a lengthy, planned outage at Seti at Home:

OUTAGE NOTICE. There will be 14 hour outage beginning at 02:00 UT on 3/24/2003. This outage is for major electrical work at the Space Sciences Lab.

Please be sure to have plenty of WU's cached. These things often last longer than anticipated. Image

Posted: 03-19-2003 07:30 PM
by lrs
<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Gwen:
In a few days, there will be a lengthy, planned outage at Seti at Home:

OUTAGE NOTICE. There will be 14 hour outage beginning at 02:00 UT on 3/24/2003. This outage is for major electrical work at the Space Sciences Lab.

Please be sure to have plenty of WU's cached. These things often last longer than anticipated. Image
</font>

Gwen, what does it mean: "cached"??! (I'm better at computers than I sound. Really).

Thanks!!!

Posted: 03-20-2003 02:21 PM
by Doug
Gee Gwen, How many do you think? I'm turning out 1 about every 9.5 hrs. now, so roughly ± 2½ per day. I've got my cache set at 3... what do you think, double it to 6? Or 7 maybe?

lrs: cached (pronounced cashed) means stored for use. In this instance it means having several WU's stored for your [email protected] program to work on in case you can't connect to the SETI site to download any new one's for a while. Image

------------------
ï'm ®ïgh‡ ߀hïÑÐ ¥Øµ!
~Doug~

[This message has been edited by DougBupstateNY (edited 20 March 2003).]

Posted: 03-20-2003 07:59 PM
by lrs
Thanks Doug (as always)!!

Posted: 03-20-2003 08:23 PM
by Doug
Welcome lrs!! (As always!!) Image

------------------
ï'm ®ïgh‡ ߀hïÑÐ ¥Øµ!
~Doug~

Posted: 03-21-2003 01:27 AM
by Morgan
Glad I checked... thanks for the info. I'm usually caught blind by these things. Also, saying that these outages sometimes go on longer than predicted is a bit of an understatement.

They always seem to go on for days, because even if the scheduled work is done on time (hey... it could happen) it is immediately followed by all bazillion of us trying to upload results at the same time.

I'll cache up two days worth. I'm a born optimist.

------------------
Morgan the Primate
**Cogito Ergo Spud**

Posted: 03-23-2003 09:14 PM
by Doug
And so it seems it has begun. At least I can't get in to return a WU, or even check stats. Let's see how long we're in the dark. Image Image

Posted: 03-24-2003 10:08 AM
by Gwen
Yep, the 14 hour planned outage Image began at 6pm pacific time yesterday, so it should be over at 8am pacific time this morning (about 45 minutes from now) Even if they are on schedule, they will be swamped with everyone trying to return completed WU's. I have 6 left and a couple to return.

Posted: 03-24-2003 11:59 AM
by Gwen
Damn, they're back up...that's a record...think I will wait till later to send in my wu's.

Posted: 04-04-2003 11:45 AM
by Gwen
I've been trying to send in a WU and get more...no go so far..this is what the Server Status says:

DATA SERVER STATUS

The data server process is not running
Right now the data server machine is up, but the process that actually serves the data is not running. This is probably because we're in the middle of upgrading the server software, or preparing for a quick reboot. These outages are usually brief (10-15 minutes). Please try back again soon.

For more information about previous outages, please check our Technical News page.


Guess I'll try later. Image

Posted: 04-04-2003 12:10 PM
by Gwen
well, dang, I just tried to go to main seti page to read some of the reobservations reports...can't even get in to main [email protected] page now. Guess I'll go mow the grass.