Page 7 of 8

Posted: 02-16-2007 05:09 PM
by Pam Heinze
I put the voltage up as high as 1.425V and still kept crashing at 320 front side bus. The temps are not going up- stay under 50 deg C, so the issue can't be thermal, can it? It has to be the 485W Noisetaker. Do you think a 600W psu could do the job?

The reason I had been buying Enermax is they seem to offer the beefiest 12V rails- 35 amps on my Whispers and 22 amp on the Noisetaker. But a lot of the big name 600-700W psus like from OCZ only have 18 amps on the 12V rail.

I put the voltage up as high as 1.425V and still kept crashi

Posted: 02-22-2007 01:53 AM
by pcalliance
I'm not sure it's the FSB and it's definately not thermal. What is the voltage on the RAM? Are you overclocking the ram? You should be able to take the FSB all the way to 360 comfortably on your MB with no ill effects providing the PSU can take the additional load.

Sorry it took me so long to reply. My visits to the forum are infrequent this time of year.

-Patrick Holland

P.S. Do you have access to a kill-a-watt unit? If not, a good AVR battery backup? Either one of these can give you a good glimpse into your wattage (volts X amps) usage. You may be hitting a voltage threshold but I can't be sure.

P.S.S. Enermax is a good brand. I install Enermax in every server I sell. I use Ultra in the workstations I sell.

Re: I put the voltage up as high as 1.425V and still kept cr

Posted: 02-23-2007 09:46 PM
by Pam Heinze
Originally posted by pcalliance
I'm not sure it's the FSB and it's definately not thermal. What is the voltage on the RAM?
2.2. Board default was 1.8, but the Crucial Ballistix ddr2 800 ram specs said 2.2 V , so I set it there.
Are you overclocking the ram?
I am running at pc533, so it's the same as the front side bus, running 1:1 ratio. That would mean the ram is not being overclocked. So I could put the memory volts back to 1.8, couldn't I?
You should be able to take the FSB all the way to 360 comfortably on your MB with no ill effects providing the PSU can take the additional load.

Sorry it took me so long to reply. My visits to the forum are infrequent this time of year.

-Patrick Holland

P.S. Do you have access to a kill-a-watt unit? If not, a good AVR battery backup? Either one of these can give you a good glimpse into your wattage (volts X amps) usage. You may be hitting a voltage threshold but I can't be sure.

P.S.S. Enermax is a good brand. I install Enermax in every server I sell. I use Ultra in the workstations I sell.


I'll try to find one of those kill-a-watts. That sounds like a good tool.

Mark Sattler blew up another motherboard. He was in the top three computers until that happened. I was overclocking the Pentium D 960 10% using the profile thing in the bios on the P5ld2-vm, but it kept giving me a "overclocking failed" message after a xp pro 64 update. Usually I can just go into bios and hit f10 and it will go ahead and boot up but this time I had to go back to default. I only have a cheap 420 W on that one and I'm amazed it was ran as long as it did at 3.94 GHz.

Posted: 03-03-2007 08:20 PM
by Pam Heinze
My E6700 on the D975xbx2 runs fine at 310 front side bus but at 320 it reboots after a while. When I come back up I get one of those "windows has recovered from a serious error" messages. When I click on the information about the error I get this:


BCCode : 9c BCP1 : 0000000000000000 BCP2 : FFFFFADFE4671240
BCP3 : 00000000B2000040 BCP4 : 0000000000000800 OSVer : 5_2_3790
SP : 1_0 Product : 256_1

I just installed an Enermax Liberty 620W power supply, in case the 485 W Noisetaker was holding me back. But in less than half an hour, I was crashed. I've bumped the voltage to 1.35V, so we'll see what that does with this new psu. The Liberty still has 22 Amps on the 12V rail, like the Noisetaker, so I don't know if bigger total wattage was even called for here.

No, I don't have a kill-a-watt yet. I am running the memory at 533 MHz, or 1:1 ratio with fsb, so it's really at 320 MHz. I am sitting at it right now, and last time I was overclocking this much, I would see a "machine check error" message right before it crashed.

Subject change...

Posted: 07-12-2007 10:58 PM
by Keith L Dick
I haven't been around much or "Crunching much, basically Ive been looking for a Job and now have about 7 websites I am trying to get up and going...


Hope everyone is doing well...

Posted: 07-18-2007 05:58 PM
by TABwebmaster
Hi all! :D

I'm still here but barely! I finally got a good job in the IT field...actually, I'm the Technical Support Coordinator at the same college that I went to.

How's everyone? :D

Posted: 07-18-2007 10:26 PM
by Keith L Dick
Glad to hear you got a good gig Mark... Hope all is well back there...

Pam?

Posted: 07-23-2007 08:56 AM
by pcalliance
Hey Guys, Pam doesn't show up in the top 100 of Team Art Bell anymore. Anyone know why she stopped crunching?

-Patrick Holland

Hmmm

Posted: 08-07-2007 06:28 PM
by pcalliance
Hello? Anybody there?

-Patrick Holland

Posted: 09-13-2007 11:11 PM
by Shirleypal
Happy Birthday pcalliance.:)

Thanks!

Posted: 09-14-2007 11:18 AM
by pcalliance
Thanks for the birthday message. What sucks is that I am working 16 hours today :(

Have a beer for me :)

Cheers

Posted: 09-14-2007 03:55 PM
by Shirleypal
Sorry you are working on your B'day......don't drink but am having homemade lemonaide on you.:)

Posted: 06-18-2009 01:48 AM
by Shirleypal
What up with Seti these days, not crunching these days..

Posted: 02-18-2010 09:40 AM
by Astro_Tom1
yawns and streaches

Posted: 10-01-2010 08:25 AM
by Astro_Tom1
WOW Look at all the spider webs in this ship where is the maid ....SHES FIRED